Six Nations History

Six Nations Championship History

The Six Nations history goes back to the late 1800s when England, Ireland, Wales and Scotland were the founding nations in the were known then as the Home Internationals.

Since then the French flirted with the home nations championship but entered full time after the second World War and the tournament became known as the Five Nations and more recently in the 1990s Italy became members of this elite club of top flight Northern hemisphere teams and as it is known today as the 6 Nations Championship.

Get a free bet on the Six Nations.

One very important Six nations history event took place in 1893 when Wales beat all the other home nations and this feat became known the Triple Crown and it remains a very important feature of every Six Nations Championship where any home nation team can win this if not the title for that year.

During the duration of the Championships each country has enjoyed a purple patch with Ireland doing very well just after the First World War in winning three outright titles and consecutive Triple Crowns in 1948 and 1949. In the 1950s it was the turn of the French to call the shots winning four years in a row and in 1968 won their first Grand Slam. A great time in Welsh Rugby materialised between 1969 and 1979, and is considered a golden era of Welsh rugby.

In more recent times England and France have monopolised the championship and as for Scotland they have won the event fourteen times in all.

The Six Nations is a tournament that is much loved amongst rugby fans that support their nations with great enthusiasm with many making weekends out of supporting their team across Europe and today one of the hardest things to come by are Six Nations tickets for the big games.

Check the odds for the Six Nations.